What We Do

Regional approach to Protected Areas and Conservation in Eeyou Istchee


The Cree Regional Conservation Strategy is a Cree Nation initiative, developed by the Eeyou Protected Areas Committee. This Committee is comprised of representatives from all 10 Cree communities, along with members from the Cree Trappers Association (CTA), Cree Nation Youth Council (CNYC) and the Cree Nation Government (Environment and Remedial Works Department and the Culture and Language Department).

Our Mandate

The following is the Cree Nation Government’s mandate towards the conservation of the Environment and it’s wildlife for the continued existence of our Cree Culture:

  • Develop an effective regional protected areas/conservation areas network for Eeyou Istchee (including marine area)
  • Develop effective CRA involvement in the national parks and existing Protected Areas within Eeyou Istchee
  • Implement the Broadback Watershed Conservation Plan (BWCP)
  • Ensure that Cree priority conservation areas are incorporated into regional land use and protected areas planning processes